on the move

So that brings us to the July 4th weekend which is one of my most favorite holidays now because that is when I married my husband.  We are going on 3 years now!  This year we decided to stay local and go to Washington, DC to see fireworks.  It was a spectacular show – one of the best I have ever seen! We had incredible seats right between the Washington Monument and the Lincoln Memorial.  I didn’t think we were that close, but during the show we had pieces of charred cardboard that were about the size of my fist falling all around us and, by the end, we were covered in ash.

After a fun weekend celebrating with my husband, I started to get ready for our newest adventure.  I had about 2 weeks to pack up our entire apartment.  You never realize how much stuff… ah-hem “junk”… you have until you have to physically pack it and move it.  Our move to MD was a piece of cake for us because a moving company came in and did everything for us.  It was great, but we also came with a lot of unneeded things.  This time I had more time to separate out things we haven’t used in years.  So the past couple of weeks I have been packing, packing, and more packing and wouldn’t you know it, we picked the hottest day of the year to move.  We were so blessed to have amazing friends come out and help us move in the midst of the ridiculous heat.  We were overwhelmed with joy and gratefulness as we could not have done it without them.

So with our apartment in storage, we were off to Boston, MA!  We are going to be hotel living for the next 6 months.  We have been here about a week now and so far it’s been good.  We are staying in a suite, so we have a small kitchen and living room.  They serve breakfast every morning and dinner Monday through Thursday.  We don’t have a pool, but we have a fitness center and an outdoor basketball hoop.  The area is really nice, filled with shopping and dining, and paths for walking or biking.  We will miss our friends, but we are super excited to explore a new city and be closer to family!

Tags:

Leave a comment