buttery yummy goodness

So I left off in mid-April.  All of a sudden every weekend was booked up, starting with going to NJ for Easter and then traveling for 30th birthday celebrations.  Of course there was baking involved – beautiful and delicious vanilla-bean pastry-filled fruit-topped cupcakes, black and white brownie cupcakes, and it wouldn’t be a party without chocolate eclair cake.

That brings us to Memorial Day in Spring Lake, NJ.  Going to the beach is one of my most favorite things to do.  Isn’t it weird how time seems to stop when you are sitting on the sand watching the waves crash into the coast?  I become mesmerized by the beauty and sounds and don’t have a care in the world.  Those that know me well know that I am not a morning person at all, but I always get up to see the sun rise when I go to beach.  This particular weekend it was very foggy, but we were still able to get out and enjoy the eerie mist.

One other thing I love to do at the beach is EAT!  Depending on what beach I go to I always look forward to visiting some of my most favorite spots.  The Jersey Shore has so many must eat places including Kohr Bros Frozen Custard, Johnson’s Popcorn, and Mack & Manco’s pizza.  If you are ever in the Spring Lake area and in the mood for a delicious baked treat, you have to stop at The Scone Pony Bake Shoppe.  Trying a scone (or 2) is a must!  As you can see in the picture below, this is not your typical scone.  It is served fresh and warm, soft on the inside, just the right crisp on the outside… the most perfect buttery yummy goodness you will ever eat.  It’s hard to choose from all of their interesting flavor combinations, so it only makes sense to order a couple different kinds, share, and repeat.  Be warned they are a bit pricey and totally addictive.  I would literally eat them all day if I could afford it.


Pictured from left to right: Lemmon Poppy Scone and Vanilla Bean Scone

Tags:

One Comment to “buttery yummy goodness”

  1. those are not scones…..they are mini cakes….and you are right, you can
    just see the butter oozing out of those things!
    So now I’m so very hungry for one of these things that I just may have to
    take the ride to Spring Lake ASAP.

    Love you and your reflections.
    YOYO

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

